Second-Place @ the Screenwriter's Initiative!

Great news everyone! Feel Canadian's Jason Filiatrault has placed second in the Writer's Guild of Alberta 2014 Screenwriter's Initiative. After winning the program last year, Jason's new feature comedy "Three To Get Ready" lost out to Calgary director (and talented wizard) Jonathan Joffe's new script, while still attracting the eye of a pretty great producer in New York and the mild approval of Jason's agent, who didn't like the ending but laughed a bit I guess.

Three To Get Ready tells the story of a newly-engaged couple who decide to cross some items off their sexual bucket-list before getting married, and set out to have a threesome - in spite of having no idea how to make it happen.

It's a little racy, but mostly just awkward. Like a good Canadian movie ought to be.

Here's the press release from the Writer's Guild of Alberta:


Calgary based screenwriter and author of the screenplay Happy Thoughts, Jonathan Joffe is the recipient of this year’s Alberta Screenwriters Initiative.  Second and third finalists for the award are Jason Filiatrault forThree To Get Ready and Stefan Rasporich for The Cabin.  Now in its 8th year, the Alberta Screenwriters Initiative is presented as a joint partnership between the Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) and the Alberta Association of Motion Picture and Television Unions (AAMPTU).  The initiative is supported by proceeds from past Annual Film and Television Industry Wrap Parties.

The Alberta Screenwriters Initiative was created in 2007 to facilitate the development of screenwriters in this province. The Initiative recognizes the importance of story in the creation of filmed entertainment and the necessity to actively encourage and develop the voices of Alberta writers in film.This annual prize awards avid Alberta screenwriters a first prize of $1000 and a professional workshop with a carefully matched experienced story editor or screenwriter. The 2nd and 3rd place winners receives story notes, editorial feedback and $500.00 and $250.00 respectively.